Overwriting a saved creation with an old version needs a big loud warning!
In trying to troubleshoot some issues with my creation, I ended up going back to an old version - updating all elements in it - and then saving it. I was thinking this would maybe save over the old version slot?
Being that I did not back up a version of the CURRENT scene before doing this, this save ended up overwriting a weekend of work creating very difficult-to-replicate art assets. It really took all the wind out of my sails for create mode.
I think at the very least a very clear warning that you are about to overwrite your scene would help prevent this in the future.
When you save a “version“, it always creates a new save. The “quick” save is a single slot and gets overwritten each time. To me having a prompt on the quick save every time would make it seem not so quick, but maybe a prompt explaining the save option that can be disabled?
I highly recommend saving an online (private) version of your work every time you reach a milestone because that’s the most secure way to protect against things like having a power outage that causes loss of local save data.