Can't delete element unless I delete the scene it came from?
First, absolutely love this game. Got it a few weeks back. I've been making everything myself. So, I don't think my issue has something to do with private assets. Also, haven't used the prizes or anything else.
I created a scene. So far only local saves, no online or release. I grouped certain assets from the scene and saved them separately as elements, so I can use them for a level later. Since then, I've revisited my elements, made changes, and now I think the scene is ready. One of my elements I decided to scrap. So I went to delete that element and it says that in order to delete it I have to delete everything else. Meaning, i have to delete the scene, as well as all 5 other elements that I saved that don't have that element in them. Why? It's already been deleted from my scene and the other elements dont include it. And nothing has been released yet. So, I'm confused.
It's the same for all of the elements. Delete one, delete them all, as well as the scene.
It's just one element, but it made me think of future issues down the line.
Once I release the scene, can I still use the elements I've saved in a level as separated from my first scene? Meaning, when I change the element, does it have to be updated in the scene as well?
One of my elements is a character I've been working on and I'd really hate to mess it all up by releasing the scene and then not being able to work with her again. In the scene she has basic jump/ movement functions. But, I want to add more abilities for her for gameplay.
This may be something I'm just not getting. But, I'm very thankful if anyone can help.
Ah! Ok. I think I understand a little better now. Thank you for replying back to me. :) So, I need to create each element separately before putting them in a scene.
I'm still a bit confused as to why, being in planning stages, and the original creation, deleting anything would still cause that item to appear in the scene and not be able to delete it as an element when the original element was crafted in the scene before it was saved as an element. Geneology wise, I thought if I tried to delete the element from my scene it would automatically be deleted as an element then. If it originates from the scene then wouldn't that be the only thing its linked to and not the other elements? Also, I can understand if this was happening after an online save or publishing for play. But, this is before anything has been released. I'm constantly changing things.
Thank you again for responding. :)
AdminQA Team (QA, Media Molecule) commented
Thanks for getting in touch :)
I can see why you are confused as to why you need to delete the other creations as well but there is a reason I assure you!
When you create an Element by saving it inside another Creation, that Element is classed as a remix of the Creation you saved it from. You can see this is the Elements Genealogy. The reason i'm mentioning this is because the Genealogy is permanent and cannot change, this is to prevent people exploiting others content. So if you were to delete a Creation that is related to another that you own, it will ask you to delete the other creations as well to prevent what we call "ghost" creations in the Genealogy.
An alternative that you can look into if you do not want this creation anymore, is to Archive it. You can do this by going into your profile, select My Creations and navigating to the top of the page where you will find the Archive tool. You can simply archive the creations you no longer use. You can also pull these creation back again at a later date if you so wish :)
To answer your other question, yes you will be able to use any creation you own in any other creation you wish.
I hope this answers your question. There is no bug here, this is all intended functionality.
This could be because you used it in a previous version, so for that link to remain unbroken that element has to still exist. Try deleting the version that uses that element, and see if that fixes it.